Tag: Novels

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

An adventure awaits in the newly released, Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrow, written by J.M. Bergen.

Synopsis

Magic is real, Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real.

Seven years have passed, and Thomas hasn’t forgotten. Last moments together are memorable, even if you don’t know that’s what they are at the time.

Now, with his 13th birthday rapidly approaching, Thomas’s search for magic is about to take a radical and unexpected turn. At an out-of-the-way shop filled with dusty leather books, a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes offers him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows. The price is high and the rules are strict, but there’s no way Thomas can resist the chance to look inside.

With the mysterious book guiding the way, Thomas discovers that he has a name and destiny he could never have imagined. But time is short. Even as Thomas uncovers his secret family history, enemies emerge, threatening to end his rise to power and destroy everything he holds dear.

#MelAndNikkiReview

Usually novels take me awhile to read; however, I couldn’t put this one down. Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows was an intriguing read as it offered so much. J.M. Bergen has created a new world with new adventures that will have a middle graders excited to read.

Full of adventure, well-thought of characters and storyline that will make anyone enjoy this book. We don’t want to spoil this great book but we truly enjoyed reading it. It offers a mixture of legend and modern-day problems to make it relatable to the reader.

“Fantasy and New Age? Really? Thomas’s shoulders slumped. He took a half-hearted step toward the back of the shop and paused, the knot in his gut tightening. As much as he hated getting laughed at, the idea of digging through piles of worthless books was as unexciting as the prospect of scrolling through another online ‘magic’ forum. If ever there was a place that might have what he really wanted, this was it. He sucked in a deep breath and turned around.”

For this #MelAndNikkiReview, we give Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows 5 out of 5! We recommend this novel for middle graders and will appeal to fans of Harry Potter; Percy Jackson, and other middle grade series with magical and/or fantastical flair.

About the Author

J.M.’s debut fantasy/magic series originally started as a bedtime story for his oldest son. The story turned into a saga, and one book turned into five. The first book in the series, Thomas Wildus and The Book of Sorrows, has been released in February 2019. The second, Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria, will be published in early 2020.

When J.M. isn’t’ working on the Thomas Wildus books, you can find him playing with his kids, napping or dreaming up new adventures. If you ever meet him and can’t think of anything to talk about, you might ask about Herman the Shark, the Kai and Eli stories, or why Riddle-Master by Patricia McKillip is his all-time favorite book. Or maybe, just maybe, you’ll have questions and stories of your own (if you do, he’ll think that’s far more interesting).

To learn more, click here.

If you would like to purchase a copy, click here.

 

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

 

-Momma Braga

 

 

* The book was provided to Momma Braga in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed her solely belong to Momma Braga.