Tag: Novels

Thomas Wildus And The Wizard Of Sumeria | Book Review

Synopsis

In Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria, three months have passed since Thomas and Enrique faced off against Arius Strong and prevented an all-out apocalypse. Three long, glorious, summer months – months filled with friends, family, magic, and Thomas’s first real kiss.

Unfortunately, the good times are coming to a rapid end. With a cryptic message from a mysterious hacker, Thomas discovers that his nemesis is pursuing an object even more powerful than the crystals. Arius will stop at nothing to find the treasure and destroy his enemies, and this time he’s not alone. Dark creatures with darker powers are flocking to Arius’s cause: shapeshifters, warlocks, even a sadistic killer in a schoolgirl outfit.

The forces of good are gatherings as well, but with so much darkness at Arius’s disposal, the prospects for Thomas and his friends look increasingly grim. Will time run out before he sees through the lies and uncovers the next level of his destiny?

#MelAndNikkiReview

Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria is another epic adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat! If you haven’t read the first book in the series, we do recommend to give it a read as it’s fantastic! J.M. Bergen has done it again by bringing Thomas Wildus and his friends in another action packed journey.

Full of adventure, well-thought of characters and storyline that will make anyone enjoy this book. Magical, suspenseful and more action-filled with this second installment. We are introduced to more characters both good and evil. There are also some surprising twists and unexpected turn of events that will not let you put the book down.

“Thomas closed his eyes and tried to feel a connection to the books. His thoughts swirled, shifting from the books to Peggy to school to Arius and Heinrik and Arianna. He tried harder, focusing so intensely that his brain began to ache.”

For this #MelAndNikkiReview, we give Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria 5 out of 5! We recommend this novel for middle graders and will appeal to fans of Harry Potter; Percy Jackson, and other middle grade series with magical and/or fantastical flair.

If you would like to purchase this novel, click here.

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

-Momma Braga

*This book was provided in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are our own.

 

The Authenticity Project | Book Review

“The Authenticity Project is perfect for your “me time” when you just want to sit back and indulge in a story full of friendship, love and makes you think.” – Momma Braga

Synopsis

Julian Jessop, an eccentric, lonely artist and septuagenarian believes that most people aren’t really honest with each other. But what if they were? And so he writes –in a plain, green journal– the truth about his own life and leaves it in his local café. It’s run by the incredibly tidy and efficient Monica, who furtively adds her own entry and leaves the book in the wine bar across the street. Before long, the other who find the green notebook add the truths about their own deepest selves–and soon find each other In Real Life at Monica’s Café.

The Authenticity Project’s cast of characters–including Hazard, the charming addict who makes a vow to get sober; Alice, the fabulous mommy Instagrammer whose real life is a lot less perfect than it looks online; and their other new friends-is by turns quirky and funny, heartbreakingly sad and painfully true-to-life. It’s a story about being brave and putting your real self forward–and finding out that it’s not as scary as it seems. In fact, it looks a lot like happiness.

#MelAndNikkiReview

The Authenticity Project is superb! It combined it all; friendship, real, love and the ability to make us think. I loved the set-up of the story with the green notebook. It lead to the creation of a group of friends that would otherwise have not gotten together. But the best part of this book, is showing how our best selves is being our honest selves.

Many times I often wonder if many of the photos I see can even be real especially from influencers online. Are they truly be honest or just posing for that one sponsor that they feel they can’t live without? During that process of being glamourous for the likes and follows, do they lose themselves? This novel allows us to see one mommy Instagrammer, Alice, and what she goes through (*this is a fiction character). This is what I found to be relatable and in this modern era, many will be able to relate to the story. Trying to differentiate between reality and fiction has always peaked my interest! 😉

From beginning to end, it truly touched my heart and it was so enjoyable that I read it twice! Huge compliment as I usually only have time to read a novel one time and that is the honest truth! If you are looking for a good-feel book to emerge yourself in when you do have some time for yourself then I do recommend this one. I know how hard it is to find that time but if you love reading then this will be great for you.

Therefore, for this #MelAndNikkiReview, I give it 5 stars out of 5! This story inspired me so much that for the first time I shared unfiltered and no make-up photo of myself on Instagram (featured below). It is ME and I love the me that I am. I am not perfect and am full of flaws but that is what makes me Momma Braga. I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

 

If you would like to purchase this novel, click here.

About the Author

Clare Pooley spent twenty years in the heady world of advertising before becoming a full-time mother. Pooley writes from her kitchen table in Fullham, London where she lives with her long-suffering husband, three children, dog, and an African pygmy hedgehog.

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

-Momma Braga

*This book was provided in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are our own.

Gold Rush Girl | Book Review

“Newbery Medalist Avi brings us mud-caked, tent-filled San Francisco in 1848 with a willful heroine who goes on an unintended – and perilous – adventure to save her brother.”

Synopsis

Victoria Blaisdell longs for independence and adventure, and she yearns to accompany her father as he sails west in search of real gold! But it is 1848, and Tory isn’t even allowed to go to school, much less travel all the way from Rhode Island to California. Determined to take control of her own destiny, she stows away on the ship. Though San Francisco is frenzied and full of wild and dangerous men, Tory finds freedom and friendship there. Until one day, when Father is in the gold fields, her younger brother, Jacob, is kidnapped. And so Tory is spurred on a treacherous search for him in Rotten Row, a part of San Francisco Bay crowded with hundreds of abandoned ships.

#MelAndNikkiReview

Gold Rush Girl is set during the Gold Rush of 1894 and is filled with adventure to draw a reader in. What captivated me as a reader was the strong female main character, Victoria (Tory). She embraces the unknown and refuses to be underestimated – love that! Tory also portrays great qualities such as being a good friend and being empathetic toward others. Furthermore, she becomes aware of her own shortcomings. Not in a way that belittles her strong character, but rather provides a depth look to who she is. You can’t help but respect it as you see her grow.

It is an interesting era to write about as the author combined real history facts into a functional story which made this book an interesting read. Make sure to read the Autor’s note in the back as there are some really cool facts he shares.

Therefore, for this #MelAndNikkiReview, we give Gold Rush Girl 4 stars out of 5! Adventure awaits for readers between 10 to 14 years of age and an empowering story too.

If you would like to purchase a copy, click here.

About the Author

Avi is one of the most celebrated authors writing for children today, having received two Boston Globe – Horn Book Awards, a Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, a Christopher Award, a Newbery Medal, and two Newbery Honors. He is the author of more than eighty books, including The Button War, What Do Fish Have to Do with Anything? And Other Stories, and The Most Important Thing: Stories About Sons, Fathers and Grandfatherd. Avi lives in Colorado.

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

-Momma Braga

*This book was provided in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are our own.

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

An adventure awaits in the newly released, Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrow, written by J.M. Bergen.

Synopsis

Magic is real, Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real.

Seven years have passed, and Thomas hasn’t forgotten. Last moments together are memorable, even if you don’t know that’s what they are at the time.

Now, with his 13th birthday rapidly approaching, Thomas’s search for magic is about to take a radical and unexpected turn. At an out-of-the-way shop filled with dusty leather books, a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes offers him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows. The price is high and the rules are strict, but there’s no way Thomas can resist the chance to look inside.

With the mysterious book guiding the way, Thomas discovers that he has a name and destiny he could never have imagined. But time is short. Even as Thomas uncovers his secret family history, enemies emerge, threatening to end his rise to power and destroy everything he holds dear.

#MelAndNikkiReview

Usually novels take me awhile to read; however, I couldn’t put this one down. Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows was an intriguing read as it offered so much. J.M. Bergen has created a new world with new adventures that will have a middle graders excited to read.

Full of adventure, well-thought of characters and storyline that will make anyone enjoy this book. We don’t want to spoil this great book but we truly enjoyed reading it. It offers a mixture of legend and modern-day problems to make it relatable to the reader.

“Fantasy and New Age? Really? Thomas’s shoulders slumped. He took a half-hearted step toward the back of the shop and paused, the knot in his gut tightening. As much as he hated getting laughed at, the idea of digging through piles of worthless books was as unexciting as the prospect of scrolling through another online ‘magic’ forum. If ever there was a place that might have what he really wanted, this was it. He sucked in a deep breath and turned around.”

For this #MelAndNikkiReview, we give Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows 5 out of 5! We recommend this novel for middle graders and will appeal to fans of Harry Potter; Percy Jackson, and other middle grade series with magical and/or fantastical flair.

About the Author

J.M.’s debut fantasy/magic series originally started as a bedtime story for his oldest son. The story turned into a saga, and one book turned into five. The first book in the series, Thomas Wildus and The Book of Sorrows, has been released in February 2019. The second, Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria, will be published in early 2020.

When J.M. isn’t’ working on the Thomas Wildus books, you can find him playing with his kids, napping or dreaming up new adventures. If you ever meet him and can’t think of anything to talk about, you might ask about Herman the Shark, the Kai and Eli stories, or why Riddle-Master by Patricia McKillip is his all-time favorite book. Or maybe, just maybe, you’ll have questions and stories of your own (if you do, he’ll think that’s far more interesting).

To learn more, click here.

If you would like to purchase a copy, click here.

 

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

 

-Momma Braga

 

 

* The book was provided to Momma Braga in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed her solely belong to Momma Braga.