Tag: Books for Young Readers

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

An adventure awaits in the newly released, Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrow, written by J.M. Bergen.

Synopsis

Magic is real, Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real.

Seven years have passed, and Thomas hasn’t forgotten. Last moments together are memorable, even if you don’t know that’s what they are at the time.

Now, with his 13th birthday rapidly approaching, Thomas’s search for magic is about to take a radical and unexpected turn. At an out-of-the-way shop filled with dusty leather books, a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes offers him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows. The price is high and the rules are strict, but there’s no way Thomas can resist the chance to look inside.

With the mysterious book guiding the way, Thomas discovers that he has a name and destiny he could never have imagined. But time is short. Even as Thomas uncovers his secret family history, enemies emerge, threatening to end his rise to power and destroy everything he holds dear.

#MelAndNikkiReview

Usually novels take me awhile to read; however, I couldn’t put this one down. Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows was an intriguing read as it offered so much. J.M. Bergen has created a new world with new adventures that will have a middle graders excited to read.

Full of adventure, well-thought of characters and storyline that will make anyone enjoy this book. We don’t want to spoil this great book but we truly enjoyed reading it. It offers a mixture of legend and modern-day problems to make it relatable to the reader.

“Fantasy and New Age? Really? Thomas’s shoulders slumped. He took a half-hearted step toward the back of the shop and paused, the knot in his gut tightening. As much as he hated getting laughed at, the idea of digging through piles of worthless books was as unexciting as the prospect of scrolling through another online ‘magic’ forum. If ever there was a place that might have what he really wanted, this was it. He sucked in a deep breath and turned around.”

For this #MelAndNikkiReview, we give Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows 5 out of 5! We recommend this novel for middle graders and will appeal to fans of Harry Potter; Percy Jackson, and other middle grade series with magical and/or fantastical flair.

About the Author

J.M.’s debut fantasy/magic series originally started as a bedtime story for his oldest son. The story turned into a saga, and one book turned into five. The first book in the series, Thomas Wildus and The Book of Sorrows, has been released in February 2019. The second, Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria, will be published in early 2020.

When J.M. isn’t’ working on the Thomas Wildus books, you can find him playing with his kids, napping or dreaming up new adventures. If you ever meet him and can’t think of anything to talk about, you might ask about Herman the Shark, the Kai and Eli stories, or why Riddle-Master by Patricia McKillip is his all-time favorite book. Or maybe, just maybe, you’ll have questions and stories of your own (if you do, he’ll think that’s far more interesting).

To learn more, click here.

If you would like to purchase a copy, click here.

 

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

 

-Momma Braga

 

 

* The book was provided to Momma Braga in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed her solely belong to Momma Braga.

 

Advertisements

The Real McCoys Series | Book Reviews

Mystery and comedy is what you can expect from the REAL McCoys series and they are great books for middle grade readers!

We had the pleasure of reviewing both books for this review – two for one deal! 😉

The Real McCoys

Synopsis

“When someone kidnaps beloved school mascot Eddie the Owl, the world’s greatest fourth-grade detective is on the case. But Moxie’s forced to fly solo now that her best friend (and crime-solving partner) has moved away.

First, Moxie must interview her classmates – as possible suspects and as potential new best friends. She finds clues and points fingers but can’t save the owl on her own. Enter Moxie’s little brother, Milton. Quiet, cautious, and boring as a butter knife, he listens carefully and connects the dots. Can the Real McCoys form an unlikely alliance and solve the crime of the century?”

#MelAndNikkiReview

It has been awhile since I read a good book that made me laugh out loud. The story is full of adventure, mystery, problem-solving and a whole lot of comedy. The artwork throughout the book made it a breeze to read right through it and it brought the story to life. The Real McCoys characters are a great balance of one another. On one side you have a lively and spunky Moxie and on the other side you have a quiet and calm Milton. They make the perfect pair in solving the toughest of mysteries such as the missing mascot.

“For the first time, I can see the possibility that he’s my actual brother – that he’s a real McCoy.”

We give this first book in the series a 5 hoots out of 5 for creativity, mystery and a whole lot of laughs of joy.

To purchase this book from the series, click here.

The Real McCoys Two’s A Crowd

Synopsis

“When a baffling mystery strikes Tiddlywhump Elementary, sibling detectives and absolute opposites Moxie and Milton McCoy are on the case. She’s the doer. He’s the thinker. She’s the heart. He’s her heartburn.

Moxie’s friend Emily has received a suspicious letter signed with nothing but a sinister purple squiggle. Then more letters arrive – along with more questions. Who sent them? What do they mean? Is the world on the brink of collapse?

Milton and Moxie are the perfect problem-solving team…if only they could get along. When their partnership falls apart, Moxie races to identify the mysterious Squiggler first – while learning the hard way that two McCoys really are better than one.”

#MelAndNikkiReview

It is no surprise to me that this book went beyond our expectations as it was as captivating to read as the first book in this series. The added “Moxie’s Dictionary” was a very cute touch in the book too. We don’t want to spoil the book as it is a must read but we loved it. The mystery, creativity and laughs went to a new level with this second installment and we can’t wait to read the next one! For The Real McCoys Two’s A Crowd we give it 5 Squigglers out of 5! 

To purchase this book from the series, click here.

Overall, both books are great and if you are looking for a gift idea for a middle schooler who loves to read, then this would be an amazing series for them!

We also love the face that the series is created by husband and wife writing/drawing duo Matthew Swanson and Robbi Behr. The series were inspired in part by their own children and you need to follow them on Instagram and Facebook as they are a hysterically funny couple!

Until next time…Happy Parenting!

-Momma Braga